Planning & Zoning Commission

The Johnstown Planning and Zoning Commission is a committee of seven residents who have been appointed by the Town Council to review matters related to planning and development. The Commission meets on a regular, as-required basis to consider land use matters, including  the Comprehensive Land Use Plan, sub-area specific plans, and to hold public hearings regarding property-specific annexations, special use permits, and subdivisions. The Commission is an advisory body and makes recommendations to the Town Council. Because the Commission focuses on community planning issues, it is a valuable intermediary between the public and the Town Council.  The Town Planner provides research and technical and administrative support to the Commission.

Commission Members

Seven Johnstown residents are appointed by Town Council for four-year terms to serve on the Commission:  

  • Lila Montez, Chair
  • Paul Kingsolver
  • Larry Storms
  • Patricia Kiovsky
  • Jason Grentz
  • Bruce Weber
  • Vacant Position (interested parties apply using below application)


Planning and Zoning Commission Application



  • Meetings are held at 7:00 p.m., on Wednesday evenings, at Town Hall – 450 S Parish Ave., Johnstown, CO.
  • Regular Planning & Zoning Commission meetings are scheduled for the 2nd Wednesday of the month. Supplemental meetings are held on the 4th Wednesday of the month only as necessary.
  • Meetings are held only when there are items on an agenda.
  • All meetings are open to the public, and all residents of the area are invited to attend.
  • Most items heard by the PZC will also be review/heard by the Town Council at their subsequent regular meetings.

2020 Meeting Dates (Regular and Neighborhood Meetings)

Neighborhood Meeting: Podtburg Annexation - September 29, 2020 at 7pm - Click here to join remotely

May 13, 2020 *remote Packet Agenda  
August 26, 2020 Packet Agenda  
September 20, 2020 Packet Agenda